Thread: Nopoo scent thread

Default Nopoo scent thread

Hi! I've been doing nopoo for a few months, and I really like it
    But I want to scent my hair! In other threads, the ways to scent hair I've found are basically essential oils and shampoo.
    Nopoo works so well for me, and I'm afraid of using essential oil. The nopoo subreddit warns against the risks of essential oils.

"I would be really careful about using essential oils, as essential oils are concentrated chemicals taken from the plant material and need to be treated with respect. While they are naturally derived, they also are very strong chemicals that people don't often understand properly before using. Generally these should be carefully considered and used for an intended purpose, and when used should be diluted properly. As u/NonoVirus said, you need to be aware of what each essential oil does rather than just thinking about the scent of it."

"Essential oils used correctly, diluted, with carrier oil can be done on hair and skin. BUT you really have to know what which EO does. Some can cause photosensitivity (this means sunburn when your skin that didn’t get any EO would be fine), some can have a drying effect when used too concentrated, some can act/interact with hormones (mainly important for/around kids & pregnant people). " (source https://www.reddit.com/r/NoPoo/comme...ent/?rdt=51934)

While I could maybe find ways to dilute it, is there any other ways to scent hair? I've been thinking of rose water, but it does gets costly and I'm trying not to get my hair wet very often.

Length
    0.25/52/Term
    Type
    2b/M/ii

Default Re: Nopoo scent thread

Essential oils should always be diluted. You can add a few drops to another oil. But I prefer blends already done or misters when I don't want oil in my hair. I can highly recommend oils and misters from NightBlooming! https://www.nightblooming.com/shop/oil-mist-dffuse/

Be nice or the beast will scream